## BERKELEY COVENANT CHURCH

## 2003 Officers and Positions to Be Filled at 2004 Annual Meeting

Key – Each number in parentheses is the year when the person last began to serve continuously in that office.

All years mentioned are whole years. For instance, the year of beginning service is the year of the annual meeting at which the person was elected, and the phrases "expires" and "elect through" refer to the last full year of service.

Positions marked by "<—" are to be filled by election at the 2004 annual meeting. This should occur in January 2004 (perhaps 18 January). The sample ballot must be distributed by two weeks before the election.

**Officers** are elected annually and may serve up to three consecutive terms (except for the treasurer, who may serve up to six consecutive terms, and for the president of Covenant Women).

Chair	Rich Rhodes ('02)	<
Vice chair	Ann Moriarty ('03)	<
Secretary	Phil Davidson ('02)	<—
Treasurer	Peter de Laveaga ('02)	<
President of CW	(vacant)	elected by CW

**Other elders** serve for three-year terms except for persons elected to serve the remaining portions of partial terms. They shall not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Janice Tizon ('02)	expires '03	< elect through 2006
David Vahlstrom ('02)	expires '03	< elect through 2006
(vacant)	expires '03	< elect through 2006
Michael Thwaites ('02) (inactive)	expires '04	
(vacant)	expires '04	< elect through 2004
(vacant)	expires '04	<— elect through 2004
Elaine Chan ('00)	expires '05	
(vacant)	expires '05	< elect through 2005

**Other elected positions** are all elected annually. (The assistant head usher is not mentioned in the constitution or bylaws.)

Sunday school superintendent	Laurie Fiddes ('89)	<—
Asst. Sunday school supt.	Vicki Brodt ('02)	<
Head usher	Janice Tizon ('02)	<
Asst. head usher	Evelyn Kroeker ('03)	<—
Conference liaison	Royce Tanaka ('03)	<
Pastoral relations committee		
— from the board	David Vahlstrom ('02)	<—
— non-board	Lono Criss ('02)	<
Auditors (2)	Kent Moriarty ('01)	<—
	Larry Cool ('02)	<

The **nominating committee** consists of five members (at least two of which must be from the board), plus the pastor and the financial secretary (Bill Colbert). It must be elected at least three months before the annual meeting.

## The constitution and bylaws are posted at

http://www.berkeleycov.org/internal/const.htm http://www.berkeleycov.org/internal/bylaws.htm

## 8/19/03 PLD